First day of school! It was cold!
These are just my ramblings about things pertaining to this semester thus far, in no particular order:
Mason and I are both enjoying our classes this semester. My favorites are my chemistry and animal diversity classes, and Mason is liking his computer science class (he's minoring in computer science! He's so cool!) and math. We are both working really hard in school and at our jobs. Mason is a TA again this semester, but he got promoted to be one of the HEAD TAs and now he is making the big bucks. And by that I mean like $11.45 an hour. Wowee! I'm back working custodial in the Life Sciences building, which is kind of a drag sometimes but it works with my schedule so I'll take it.
One thing that's been really good this semester is that all of Mason's classes start after mine. That means he can help me get out the door to go to school every single morning, which is a good thing because sometimes I just have no desire to go. Especially since going entails walking a mile in the cold before I'm even there. He's been really nice and kind and supportive and has helped me out a lot.
Mason is also taking a class this semester about grad schools, and the application process and stuff like that. Crazy thing is, his professor is the therapist I sometimes meet with in the Wilk! Mason is starting to really like that class too, and I think it's cool that he got to meet Dr. Rice. Sometimes we think about where we want to live while he's in grad school, and the other day we were daydreaming about moving to Australia. Why not? We're young and crazy and our lives are OURS and we can do whatever we want with them!
...that was just a daydream though. We haven't really researched any schools down there and it would be crazy because it's literally the opposite side of the planet. But we're not ruling anything out just yet. :)
In addition to school and work and homework and all that jazz, Mason has also been good about getting up early and exercising. (I planned to do that too this year, but it hasn't really happened yet. And my food baby can prove it.) He goes down to the little "gym" area we have in our building and runs on the treadmill or rides the stationary bike. And he's very good at keeping track of everything he's done. He created a spreadsheet--his favorite thing! I think it's really cool and admirable that he is so organized about things he cares about.
A cool thing happened to me the other day. So usually after I take a test in the testing center I immediately take out my phone and check my score and then I base my feelings off of that number. However, on saturday I took my first chemistry test and, because it is all going to be hand graded by my TA, I am not going to know my score for probably about a week. And I feel good about it. I don't feel good about it because I think I got 100%, in fact I'm not even sure I got an A. But I feel good about it because I worked really hard and I studied and paid attention in class and did my homework and then I worked my fanny off in that testing center for 3 hours straight, and when I was behind and the testing center was closing in 20 minutes and I still had 5 problems to do I DIDN'T GIVE UP. And I feel proud of myself and I know that I did my best and so no matter what grade I get, I feel proud to have worked so hard.
That's cool because I never feel like that! I always just check my grade and I am NEVER satisfied. So it was a new thing and I really liked it.
We are excited to see what the rest of the semester brings!
You are so crazy cool. Love you, Bri.
ReplyDelete